Latest News


TB/HIV On-line courses 2015


The 2015 Clinical Management of TB and HIV co-infection on-line courses are now open for registration. The closing date for applications is the 31 December. Early application is advised in order to qualify for scholarships.


The World Academy of Science award


The Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), on behalf of the African Union (AU) Commission, The World Academy of Science (TWAS) and the Department of Science and Technology, presented Dr Keren Middelkoop with the AU-TWAS Young Scientist in South Africa award.


Weber-Parkes Trust Medal


Join us in warmly congratulating our Director, Prof Robin Wood, on his recently being awarded the Weber-Parkes Medal from the Royal College of Physicians. This is in recognition for his substantial contribution to Tuberculosis.


IAS Governing Council 2014 - 2016


Prof. Linda-Gail Bekker (COO) is the new President-Elect of the International AIDS Society. Her interest in prevention sciences, the testing of biomedical technologies including HIV vaccines, Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) and microbicides has given her international renown in these fields.